Tri Points Trophies

Points Trophy RunnerThe Points Trophies are organised to encourage adult members to compete in triathlon events on the club calendar. You score 5 points for completing a club event and 10 points if the event is a club championship or club relay.  There are also 10 points available for completing a half Ironman and 20 for completing an Ironman race anywhere during the year (to a maximum of one of each) and 2 for each club event you volunteer at (points are only available at SLH organised events where members are eligible to score points, ie the Swim Challenge and Open Water Championship).  

There are separate trophies for men and women.

The men's cup is named after Steve Southall (pictured), who much to his displeasure had to complete the gruelling Ballbuster in order to secure the inaugural Points Trophy.

The women's cup is currently without a name.  Suggestions are welcome!

Winners will keep their respective trophies for one year, and whichever winner amasses more points during the year will also collect a shoehorn. The shoehorn is representative of Steve's transition techniques.

Previous competitions

Chris McHugh is the current holder of the men's trophy and shoehorn after a dominating win in the 2014 contest.  It was his first year in triathlon and he went for it, completing races at every distance from short aquathlons to Ironman Wales.  He was almost ever-present in our London League squad and a deserving winner.  

Tracy Land won the 2014 women's competition, on offer for the first time.  In the absence of a trophy ready for the AGM in September she was presented with a toy plastic sword that happened to be in the clubhouse bar at the time.  In future years a legend will doubtless grow about how the sword has an inexorable link to women's triathlon in Coulsdon.  We will see.

2014 final tables

In 2013, when there was only one trophy on offer, Ross Gentry won the Southall Cup and shoehorn, winning a close-fought contest during which he got married - at one point it looked as though he and Natalie were going to enter every race together and finish equal.

2013 final table

Nigel Costiff was the clear winner of the 2012 trophy, marking his last full year in Coulsdon. 

2012 final table


2015 competitions

Latest table

Update 16 July

Halfway through the season now and there are some big leads building.  Ross is building a good lead in the men's competition - a full club championship ahead of the rest and with an Olympic distance race and a potential half ironman to come this season it's going to be hard to stop him getting the shoehorn back - maybe the Majorca ironmen have the best chance as there's 20 points available for their race.  Ruth has a good lead in the women's competition too although she has already claimed the ten points available for completing a half ironman now.

Current tables:

Men   Women  
Ross Gentry 40 Ruth Hutton 35
Steve Rigby 30 Natalie Gentry 25
Chris McHugh 25 Tracy Land 20